NASA to Provide Live Coverage of Space Station Crew Landing

Expedition 64 Flight Engineers Kate Rubins of NASA and Sergey Ryzhikov and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov of Roscosmos are scheduled to depart the International Space Station Friday, April 16. The three crew members are pictured inside the Kibo laboratory module from JAXA (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency).
Credits: NASA

Rubins, along with Russian cosmonauts Sergey Ryzhikov and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov, will close the hatch to the Soyuz MS-17 spacecraft at 6:10 p.m. EDT to begin the journey back to Earth. The trio will undock from the space-facing port of the station’s Poisk module at 9:34 p.m., heading for a parachute-assisted landing at 12:56 a.m. (10:56 a.m. Kazakhstan time) Saturday, April 17, on the steppe of Kazakhstan, southeast of the remote town of Dzhezkazgan.

Kathryn Hambleton
Headquarters, Washington

Leah Cheshier
Johnson Space Center, Houston